For nearly 100 years the Crooked River Lighthouse stood as a guiding light for ships, fishermen, and oystermen navigating the treacherous pass between Dog and St. George Islands. The lighthouse stands on the main land where it was originally built in 1895, replacing the three short-lived beacons destroyed by hurricanes on Dog Island. The 103 foot iron and steel structure was decommissioned by the Coast Guard in 1995 and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The Carrabelle Lighthouse Association and the City of Carrabelle obtained ownership of the landmark just weeks before being auctioned, and created a public park surrounding it. Via grants from the Florida State Legislature and financial support from the City of Carrabelle restoration of the structure was completed by 2007. Nestled in a North Florida forest habitat, the lighthouse beams nightly, with an acrylic replica of it’s original 4th order Fresnel lens. The park picnic area features a 70 foot wooden pirate ship providing hours of fun and fantasy.